Free From Myself…

I receive this daily email from Richard Rohr and I by no means read it everyday; currently he is writing about St. Francis and I am finding it absolutely fascinating.

You can find Richard’s link here: https://cac.org This is the homepage and from their I believe you can find the sign up to receive his daily email if you are so inclined.

Anyway I was reading along, todays reading is entitled Freedom from The Self and of course, at this present time in my life, it seriously grabbed my attention when I rolled over in bed at 4:30am this morning…I flagged it and knew I wanted and needed to get back to it when I was more conscious. I don’t know about you but when I am reading anything that states I get in my own way…I need to be fully awake so I can absorb the truth instead of throwing the implement I am reading from across the room…come one now I know I am not the only one 🙂

So again I am reading along and then this paragraph makes me slow down to a snail pace, you know what I’m talking about; the kind of pace where even a turtle is moving at break neck speed…

“…In order to be free for life, we must quite simply be free from our small selves. Francis knew that Jesus was not at all interested in the usual “sin management” task that clergy love to think is their job. He saw that Jesus was neither surprised nor upset at what we usually call sin. Jesus was upset at human pain and suffering. What else do all the healing stories mean? They are half of the Gospel! Jesus did not focus on sin. Jesus went where the pain was. Wherever he found human pain, there he went, there he touched, and there he healed. Francis, who only wanted to do one thing–imitate Jesus–did the same. But you cannot do that, or even see it, unless your first question is something other than “What do I want?” “What do I prefer?” or “What pleases me?” In the great scheme of things, it really does not matter what I want. We are not free at all until we are free from ourselves. It is that simple and that hard.”

And it has me deeply and I mean deeply breathing in and out; absorbing the truth this single paragraph contains.

Have a great day & amazing weekend.

Love & Blessings.

One thought on “Free From Myself…

  1. That is a great quote from RR, dear Lisa. Indeed, Jesus never confronted anyone with their sins. Instead He forgave sin and healed from sickness. The only times when Jesus exposed sin was when He saw self-righteousness, esp. in the hearts of the Pharisees and scribes.

    Enjoy a wonderful weekend with God and His overwhelming love! 🙂

    Much love ❤
    Susanne from Bavaria

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

